Paddle NSW Marathon Series Race 7 Report

Cronulla Sutherland Kayak Club rolled out the carpet.

Paddle NSW Marathon Series Race 7 –  19th August, 2023

On a cold and windy morning CSKC ensured a comfortable run for the barefoot paddlers doing the portage by laying carpet over the portage course.

Although the weather resulted in a few non starters all paddlers had no difficulty in handling the course and posting good times.

Also pleasing was the presence of juniors. In the New To Paddling series U14 paddler Charlee Dickson paddled beautifully to cover the 3km course in 24 minutes , while 15 year old Maxton Ward paddled the 5km Division 13 in 33 minutes.

At the completion of the race certificates were presented to all placegetters.

All photos can be seen on FLICKR

Swallow Rock Marathon (Race 8 of NSW Marathon Series)

After 2 years of cancellations due to COVID lockdowns CSKC is delighted to to be hosting this event on Saturday 13 August at Swallow Rock Reserve.

If you are not racing please consider offering your services as a volunteer to help other committee members and make it a successful day.

Woronora Marathon (Race 7) – Saturday 16 July


08:15 – 09:25:Competitor check-in will take place in front of the SSCC clubhouse in the Burnum Burnum Sanctuary

Competitors will be racing laps on a circuit from Burnum Burnum Sanctuary downstream to Thompson’s Bay, Illawong, then upstream just past the Prince Edward Park footbridge.

This will be a 10km Lap Course with:

  • 20km Divisions (1-7) paddling 2 x 10km laps
  • Division 8 paddling 1 x 10km lap and a 5km lap (2nd lap)
  • Divisions 9-12 paddling 1 x 10km lap
  • Division 13 paddling the 1x 5km lap.

Penrith Marathon (Race 6)

Race 6 of the 2022 Marathon Series will be run on the Nepean River adjacent to Nepean Rowing Club, Bruce Neale Drive Penrith, hosted by Penrith Valley Canoeing on Sunday 19 June 2022

Early Bird Entries Close 13 June, All Entries close 15 June.

Check-in and Number collection will OPEN from 08:15am.
Check-in and Number collection will CLOSE at 9:25am (before the Div 7 Start)

Start Times: NOTE DIVISION 6 & 5 TIMES
  09:30am – Division 7 & 20km SUP
  09:40am – Division 6 & 15km SUP
  09:50am – Division 5 & 10km SUP
  10:00am – Division 1, and then remaining Divisions at approximately 2 minute intervals thereafter.